Gibraltar Chronicle Logo
Local News

Govt tightens Covid-19 reporting requirements for travellers from non-EU countries

People who arrive in Gibraltar after travelling to non-EU countries will have to report to the authorities or face fines of up to £1000.

The move, announced yesterday by the Gibraltar Government, aims to bolster infection mitigation measures to stem the spread of Covid-19.

Regulations published by the Minister with responsibility for Civil Contingencies, Samantha Sacramento, introduce a legal duty for travellers to report to the authorities if they have been in a “relevant area” in the 14 days before their arrival in Gibraltar.

Failure to do so constitutes an offence punishable with a fine of up to £1000.

A relevant area means a country, area or territory outside the European Union but does not include the United Kingdom, Jersey, Guernsey and Isle of Man.

It also excludes a list of countries including Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay and China.

The definition of “relevant area” is based on measures adopted by the European Commission
recommending a temporary restriction on non-essential travel from third countries into the EU+
area from third countries which includes a list of excluded countries and is updated every two weeks.

“In addition, existing measures, which enable certain restrictions and requirements to be imposed
on someone suspected of being infected with coronavirus, have been extended to anyone who has been in a relevant area in the 14 days prior to arrival in Gibraltar,” No.6 Convent Place said.

“It enables the Government to be able to act where someone has been to a ‘relevant area’ and is unwilling to get tested for Covid-19 or is refusing to self-isolate.”

In a separate development, the UK Government confirmed yesterday that Gibraltar remained on its green list and that travellers arriving in the UK were exempted from having to quarantine for 14 days.

A number of countries were taken off the UK list on Friday, including France, the Netherlands, Monaco, Malta, Turks & Caicos and Aruba.

Most Read

Local News

Rapist jailed for over 12 years

Download The App On The iOS Store