Gibraltar Chronicle Logo

Gibraltar pair will face Australia and Guyana on Friday

Gibraltar’s pairing of Craig Galliano and Justin Hewitt will need to wait until Friday to start their competition in the World Cup of Darts.
Drawn in the group which with last years winners Australia and debutants Guyana, Gibraltar as the third team in the group C draw will watch this Thursday as their two group opponents first face each other.
They will then play on Friday afternoon session against the loser of this match before playing their second match that same evening against the winners.

The 2023 My Diesel Claim World Cup of Darts begins in Germany this Thursday, as a record 40 nations battle it out in the annual festival of darts at the Eissporthalle in Frankfurt.
The Gibraltar pairing of Craig Galliano and Justin Hewitt the youngest pairing. Although Hewitt has played three times in the competition with Galliano having played twice before.

The 13th edition of the World Cup of Darts sees and expansion in the numbers from 32 to 40 teams featuring a group stage and Doubles matches across four days of competition from June 15-18.

The Gibraltar duo will face Damon Heta and Simon Whitlock who steered Australia to a maiden World Cup title last year.

Heta clinched his first ranking title of 2023 in Tuesday’s Players Championship 14. Speaking to the official World Cup of Darts organisers website he commented,”

“It probably gives Simon a bit of confidence that he can count on me,” added Heta, making his fourth straight World Cup appearance.

 “I know that Simon has been playing well this year too, and I can always count on him because he always steps up for the World Cup.

“I’m absolutely looking forward to it. Hopefully we can back it up, but we’ll have to do it the hard way!

“The best of seven legs format is cut-throat, but it’s great for the other nations. They have a chance to prove themselves. I think it’s going to be great.”

The 2023 My Diesel Claim World Cup of Darts will be played at Eissporthalle, Frankfurt between this Thursday June 15 and June 18z

Seeded through to Second Round are 
(1) England
(2) Wales
(3) Netherlands
(4) Scotland
In the group stage are

Group Stage Draw

Group A
(5) Belgium

Group B
(6) Germany
Hong Kong

Group C
(7) Australia

Group D
(8) Northern Ireland

Group E
(9) Republic of Ireland

Group F
(10) Austria

Group G
(11) Poland

Group H
(12) Canada

Group I
(13) Czech Republic

Group J
(14) Spain
South Africa

Group K
(15) Latvia
New Zealand

Group L
(16) Switzerland

Draw Bracket – Second Round onwards
(1) England v
(4) Scotland v
(2) Wales v
(3) Netherlands v

Session Schedule
Thursday June 15 (1900 local time, 1800 BST)
Group Stage – First Matches x12
Team 1 v Team 2 from each group
Switzerland v Italy
Poland v Portugal
Czech Republic v Singapore
Spain v South Africa
Republic of Ireland v Thailand
Northern Ireland v France
Belgium v Finland
Canada v India
Austria v Denmark
Germany v Hong Kong
Australia v Guyana
Latvia v New Zealand

Friday June 16
Afternoon Session (1200 local time, 1100 BST)
Group Stage – Second Matches x12
Loser First Match v Team 3

Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)
Group Stage – Final Matches x12
Winner First Match v Team 3

Saturday June 17
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)
Second Round x4
Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)
Second Round x4

Sunday June 18
Afternoon Session (1300 local time, 1200 BST)
Evening Session (1900 local time, 1800 BST)

Group Stage - Best of seven legs
Second Round - Best of 15 legs
Quarter-Finals - Best of 15 legs
Semi-Finals - Best of 15 legs
Final - Best of 19 legs

All games will be played in a Doubles format.
Competing Nations & Pairings
Australia - Damon Heta, Simon Whitlock
Austria - Mensur Suljovic, Rowby-John Rodriguez
Bahrain - Basem Mahmood, Abdulnasser Yusuf
Belgium - Dimitri Van den Bergh, Kim Huybrechts
Canada - Matt Campbell, Jeff Smith
China - Xiaochen Zong, Lihao Wen
Croatia - Boris Krcmar, Romeo Grbavac
Czech Republic - Adam Gawlas, Karel Sedlacek
Denmark - Vladimir Andersen, Benjamin Reus
England - Michael Smith, Rob Cross
Finland - Marko Kantele, Paavo Myller
France - Thibault Tricole, Jacques Labre
Germany - Gabriel Clemens, Martin Schindler
Gibraltar - Craig Galliano, Justin Hewitt
Guyana - Norman Madhoo, Sudesh Fitzgerald
Hong Kong - Man Lok Leung, Lok Yin Lee
Hungary - Patrik Kovács, Levente Sárai
Iceland - Hallgrimur Egilsson, Vitor Charrua
India - Prakash Jiwa, Amit Gilitwala
Italy - Michele Turetta, Massimo Dante
Japan - Jun Matsuda, Tomoya Goto
Latvia - Madars Razma, Dmitriy Zhukov
Lithuania - Darius Labanauskas, Mindaugas Barauskas
Netherlands - Danny Noppert, Dirk van Duijvenbode
New Zealand - Ben Robb, Warren Parry
Northern Ireland - Brendan Dolan, Daryl Gurney
Philippines - Christian Perez, Lourence Ilagan
Poland - Krzysztof Ratajski, Krzysztof Kciuk
Portugal - Jose de Sousa, Luis Ameixa
Republic of Ireland - William O'Connor, Keane Barry
Scotland - Peter Wright, Gary Anderson
Singapore - Paul Lim, Harith Lim
South Africa - Devon Petersen, Vernon Bouwers
Spain - Jose Justicia, Tony Martinez
Sweden - Dennis Nilsson, Oskar Lukasiak
Switzerland - Stefan Bellmont, Marcel Walpen
Thailand - Attapol Eupakaree, Yong Gaweenuntavong
Ukraine - Vladyslav Omelchenko, Illia Pekaruk
USA - Jules van Dongen, Leonard Gates
Wales - Gerwyn Price, Jonny Clayton
Prize Fund (Per Team)
Winners - £80,000
Runners-Up - £50,000
Semi-Final Losers - £30,000
Quarter-Final Losers - £20,000
Last 16 Losers - £9,000
Second in Group - £5,000
Third in Group - £4,000
Total - £450,000

Most Read

Local News

Man jailed 17 months for violent offences

Download The App On The iOS Store