Gibraltar Chronicle Logo

Gibraltar rower confirmed for GB U23 crews for European championship

Gibraltarian rower Jack Prior was this Wednesday officially confirmed as forming part of the GB Under 23 crews who will be competing this weekend in Poland.
Although the rower had already revealed that he had been selected in an interview with GBC TV late last week immediately after he was featured in this newspaper, British rowing this Wednesday published the full list of rowers which included Jack Prior as part of the Men’s eight (M8+).
Thirty-one rowers, across nine boats, will represent Great Britain at the 2021 U23 European Rowing Championships in Kruszwica, Poland, on 4 and 5 September
Speaking to British Rowing Official website Peter Sheppard, British Rowing’s Chief Coach for U23s and Juniors said: “This event provides another important Championship racing opportunity in 2021 for our U23 athletes and their coaches at the end of a challenging 12 months for everyone where high level competition opportunities have been limited.”
“The majority of the young team will be using this opportunity to make their mark as U23s ready for next season, looking to step up to the U23 World Championships Team in 2022, when they are again eligible as U23s. The team is represented by 14 different clubs and programmes from across the UK including athletes and coaches from the World Class Start TID Programmes and the GBRT funded High Performance Programmes in Clubs.”
News of Jack Prior’s achievement was greeted with delight across Gibraltar’s social media with both the Chief Minister Fabian Picardo and the leader of the opposition Kieth Azzopardi congratulating the young rower who has gone through the local Rowing ranks before arriving at Oxford Brookes University where he has continued adding to his list of achievements.

GB Rowing crews for U23 European Championships have been listed as:-
Men’s eight (M8+)
• Isaac Workman (Club: University of London BC)
• Theo Darlow (Molesey BC)
• James Forward (Oxford University BC)
• Henry Marles (University of London BC)
• James Doran (Edinburgh University BC)
• Joshua Bowesman-Jones (Oxford University BC)
• Jack Prior (Oxford Brookes University BC)
• Freddie Allinson (Leander Club)
• Wilf Le Brocq (cox) (Leander Club)
Coach: Hugo Gulliver (University of London BC)
Men’s coxed four (M4+)
• Bruce Turnell (Newcastle University BC)
• Tom Shewell (Oxford Brookes University BC)
• Jake Wincomb (Oxford Brookes University BC)
• Josh Burke (University of Surrey BC/Molesey BC)
• Joe Salter (cox) (University of London BC)
Coach: Genevieve Bailhache (University of London BC)
Men’s double sculls (M2x)
• Nathan Hull (Queen’s University Belfast BC)
• Callum Dixon (Twickenham RC)
Coach: Helen Brown (WCS Twickenham)
Men’s pair (M2-)
• Dan Graham (Leander Club)
• Matt Rowe (Oxford Brookes University BC)
Coach: Brian Young (University of London BC)
Men’s quadruple sculls (M4x)
• Matthew Fielding (Edinburgh University BC)
• Peter Morgan (Strathclyde Park RC)
• Joseph Adamson (Newcastle University BC)
• Miles Devereux (Oxford Brookes University BC)
Coach: Tom Young (WCS Strathclyde)
Women’s four (W4-)
• Phoebe Snowden (University of London BC)
• Hannah Cooper (Oxford Brookes University BC/Wisconsin)
• Georgie Robinson-Ranger (University of London BC)
• Isy Hawes (Oxford Brookes University BC)
Coach: Richard Chambers (Oxford Brookes University BC)
Women’s pair (W2-)
• Holly Dunford (Molesey BC/University of Washington)
• Daisy Bellamy (Oxford Brookes University BC)
Coach: Pete Sheppard (GB Rowing Team)
Women’s double sculls (W2x)
• Cam Nyland (Warrington RC)
• Sarah Ferris (University of Worcester RC)
Coach: Jamie Wilton (University of Worcester RC)
Lightweight Women’s single sculls (LW1x)
• Olivia Bates (Nottinghamshire County RA)
Coach: Dec Gamble (Nottinghamshire County RA)

Most Read

Download The App On The iOS Store