Gibraltar Chronicle Logo
Local News

Winners announced for autumn poetry and bookmark competition

Pic by Eyleen Gomez

The annual Poetry Competition attracted 233 entries this year with Levi Attias receiving the prize of overall winner.

The Governor Lt Gen Edward Davis and the Minister for Culture Steven Linares presented the awards for both the Poetry and Bookmark competitions yesterday evening at the Convent.

At the prize giving Lt Gen Davis was formally announced as Patron of the Gibraltar Dyslexia Support Group who host the bookmark competition.

Levi Attias received the prize of Overall Winner and Best Poem in the Spanish Language.

Overall Runner-Up was Elena Scialtiel and winner for Best Poem in the English Language Category was Rebecca Faller.

Spanish poem runner-up was Mark Montovio and Spanish poem highly commended was Bathsheba Peralta.

“The Poetry and Bookmark Competition gives another dimension to culture and adds a literary angle to Government autumn cultural programme,” said Mr Linares.

“I am extremely pleased with the high number of entries, but more importantly, with the quality of the entries. I would like to thank everyone involved in this venture, including the Gibraltar Chronicle, the Gibraltar Dyslexia Support Group, the Department of Education and especially the adjudicators who judges both competitions.”

“However, I would like especially thank the many individuals who put pen to paper and in doing so allowed us to enjoy their excellent work.”

Winner School Years 4 – 5 was Shimon Reuben from the Hebrew Primary School ‘The Night’. Runner up was William Felice and Dylan Parker received highly commended.

Winner School Years 6 – 7 was Alana Sacarello and Isabelle Ramos received the prize of runner up.

Winner School Years 8 – 11 was Louis Bruce. Runner up was Pierre Leroy and Gabriel DeVincenzi received a prize for highly commended.

Winner School Years 12 – 13 was Carmen Anderson.

Mia Hook won Overall Winner in the Bookmark Competition as well as winner for school years 4 – 7.

Winner for school years 8 – 13 was Erin Brion.

Adult Winner was Geraldine Martinez and Highly Commended was presented to Daniella Dian Mead, Adrianne Duarte, Danille Gafan, Jeanette Newnham, Sara Rumford Morejon and Kate Piñer.

All runner up and highly commended winners in both competitions, also received their corresponding certificates from the Ministry for Culture and a pen.

Pic by Eyleen Gomez

Most Read

Download The App On The iOS Store